Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview
3

Come As You Are: Episode 5

The one where I feel like I'm actually going insane... also am I repeating myself? 🤔
3

First of all, I hope you had a nice weekend and a Happy Easter!

RANDOM NOTES FROM THE VIDEO…

I’m pretty sure it’s pronounced hy-GROM-eter and not hy-GROW-meeeeeter 🙄

Yes, I said it wrong, I could barely remember what it was called in the first place, but for reference, it’s what is used to measure the humidity in the air, and how I’m as obsessed with it as Kate Winslet in the beginning of the first episode of The Regime. However, her worry is that it’s TOO HUMID because she’s terrified of MOLD. My worry is that it’s TOO DRY and I’ll experience allergy symptoms and parch and crumble like a dead leaf.

It’s also imperative to note that I now have FIVE digital hygrometers in my house. And from here on out, I will pronounce it correctly.

BOOK REFERENCE…

The book I’m reading by author Michelle Mercer, Will You Take Me As I AM: Joni Mitchell’s BLUE PERIOD and because I’m mentioning it, I must also include Pablo Picasso’s Blue Period (1901-1904), which clearly lasted AT LEAST - 3 YEARS time…

I will now only refer to this time in my life as THE BLUE PERIOD. And to be clear, it started last year, so only two more years to go, if I’m basing it on Picasso’s timeline and…

I believe this will help me encapsulate this insanity I’m going though into a time frame, not pushing it to go faster, but knowing that it WILL END at some point and I will be better for having gone through it and hopefully, best case scenario, that I will have found my voice artistically and personally, as Picasso did soon after his Blue Period ended. GOD HELP ME.

The destitute figures Picasso portrays commonly perform everyday, mundane tasks; this points towards lives that are ” less than ideal.”
His internal conflict, in addition to the grief Picasso felt because of many personal losses he had already experienced in his young life, left the artist troubled. By 1901, he hadn’t yet found his “own voice”… either artistically or personally.

AND THEN…

This post is for paid subscribers